Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Six scholars set to leave Academy

27 May 2015

Decisions have been made on the six Academy players whose scholarships will expire on June 30th.

Jacob Daffern, Gedeon Okito, Luke Tingey, Laurence Vaughan, Aaran Weston and Kyran Wiltshire have not been offered professional contracts by the Dons and are now free to seek pastures new.

All six players featured regularly for Mike Dove’s Under-18s side last season, helping to achieve a second-place finish in the League and reach the national final of the Youth Alliance Cup.

Fellow Academy stars Giorgio Rasulo, Ben Tilney and Kabongo Tshimanga were all handed professional contracts during the season and will be a part of Karl Robinson’s first-team squad for the 2015/16 campaign.

Director of Youth Dove told “I’d like to thank Jacob, Gedeon, Luke, Laurence, Aaran and Kyran for all their hard work and dedication during their time with the Club.

“Jacob, in particular, had been with us for 10 years, which is a real testament to him as an individual.

“On the behalf of everyone in the Academy, I wish all the players the very best for the future.”

He continued: “I’m very excited to see what our three new professionals can achieve in the coming years.

“All three signed in different circumstances – Giorgio after a very successful season as an Under-16, Ben after a terrific pre-season where he really the caught the eye and Kabongo after scoring 45 goals in the Under-18s.”

Details of the new first-year scholars will be confirmed in due course.

Advertisement block