Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Lewington named Player of the Year!

Supporters vote the captain as their top performer this season...

7 May 2021

Dean Lewington has been named MK Dons’ Player of the Year for the 2020/21 season.

The defender was chosen, by the supporters, as their standout performer from the past 10 months – a season in which he has played 49 times, completed the most passes in the division and reached 800 club appearances.

Lewington, who receives the Player of the Year award for the first time in his career, was honoured during The Awards 2021 – the Club’s virtual awards night which premiered on YouTube on Friday night.

“To win this award is something really special,” Lewington said during The Awards 2021. “It’s a totally surprise, because it wasn’t something I thought was on the horizon, but it’s a nice surprise and I’m happy and proud to have won it.

“When you’re a defender, you often go a little under the radar so it’s nice to know people have recognised the sort of things we do.

“This has been one of my most enjoyable years in terms of what we’ve done and how we’ve gone about it – I think that’s shown.

“It’s just been a real shame that we haven’t had fans inside the stadium – but perhaps I look better on TV!”

Manager Russell Martin added: “I can only speak since I’ve been here but he’s been immense - on and off the pitch.

“He’s played in different positions for us this season and been outstanding. He’s unbelievably consistent and his attitude is fantastic too. He’s been so important for us.

“He has been our most consistent and best player which is why he’s won this award.”

Scott Fraser was voted by his teammates as Players’ Player of the Year while the Scot also took home the Club’s Community Ambassador award. He is still in the running for Top Goalscorer, one goal behind Cameron Jerome entering the final game.

“I’m over the moon with this one,” Fraser said. “We’ve got a lot of good players in this dressing room, who have all done well, so for them to vote for me, makes me really proud.

“I’ve really enjoyed my time here from the first day I came in. Everyone has been great with me and really helped me improve. I’ve been able to play how I like to play.”

Elsewhere, Harry Darling was named Young Player of the Year by the MKDSA while Will Grigg claimed his second MK Dons Goal of the Season award for finishing off the British-record 56-pass move against Gillingham.

Defender Warren O’Hora was chosen as Media Personality of the Year by the local press, and Lewis Johnson and Jade Bell claimed Academy Player of the Year and Women’s Player of the Year respectively.

Full list of winners:
Player of the Year – Dean Lewington
Players’ Player of the Year – Scott Fraser
Team Performance of the Year – 1-0 vs Charlton Athletic
Goal of the Season – Will Grigg v Gillingham
Top Goalscorer – TBD
Media Personality of the Year – Warren O’Hora
Fan of the Year – Jonathan Harries, and Liam, Joe and Ross from the MK1 Podcast
Young Fans of the Year – Max Salt and Maja Kopec
MKDSA Young Player of the Year – Harry Darling
MKDSA Disability Player of the Year – All staff, coaches and players
Academy Player of the Year – Lewis Johnson
Women’s Player of the Year – Jade Bell
Community Ambassador – Scott Fraser

Advertisement block