Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

O’Sullivan headlines Marshall Arena’s Champions League Snooker line-up

Five-time world champion coming to Stadium MK in June...

22 May 2020

Club News

O’Sullivan headlines Marshall Arena’s Champions League Snooker line-up

Five-time world champion coming to Stadium MK in June...

22 May 2020

Ronnie O’Sullivan (pictured) is one of 64 elite snooker players who have confirmed their entry to the Championship League, which will be held at Stadium MK’s Marshall Arena.

O’Sullivan, who has won five world championships, will be taking part next month, along with Mark Selby, Neil Robertson and current World Champion Judd Trump.

Mark Allen, Kyren Wilson and Stuart Bingham are among the other top-16 players who have entered the tournament, which will mark the return of live UK-based sport to TV screens from Monday 1 June.

Championship League will be split into three phases, with all matches during all stages played as the best-of-four frames.

Play will begin at 3pm each day, starting on Monday 1 June with Judd Trump (pictured below) in Group Two. Action will then run continuously until both groups are complete, with the exception of Friday 5 June when play will begin at 4pm. O’Sullivan enters the fray on Friday in Group 10.

judd trump.jpeg

The total prize fund will stand at over £200,000. Players will earn a guaranteed £1,000 with the winner taking home £30,000 and a place in November’s Champion of Champions. Championship League will not be a ranking event and will be promoted by Matchroom Multi Sport.

Full Championship League Snooker draw:
() denotes current world ranking

Group matches will take place from June 1st to 8th and will feature 16 groups of four players, with two groups played each day across two tables. The player who tops each group table will progress to Phase Two. Players will be awarded three points for a win and one point for a drawn match.

Monday 1 June
Group 2
Judd Trump (1)
Daniel Wells
Elliot Slessor
David Grace

Group 13
David Gilbert (11)
Stuart Carrington
Jak Jones
Jackson Page

Tuesday June 2nd
Group 9
Jack Lisowski (13)
Luca Brecel
Robbie Williams
Oliver Lines

Group 3
Michael Holt
Mark Davis
Mark Joyce
Louis Heathcote

Wednesday 3 June
Group 12
Kyren Wilson (8)
Ryan Day
Alfie Burden
Chen Feilong

Group 4
Joe Perry
Mark King
Sam Baird
Harvey Chandler

Thursday 4th June
Group 5
Mark Selby (4)
Liang Wenbo
Joe O'Connor
Lee Walker

Group 14
Gary Wilson (19)
Matthew Stevens
John Astley
Mitchell Mann

Friday 5 June
Group 10
Ronnie O'Sullivan (7)
Chris Wakelin
Michael Georgiou
Kishan Hirani

Group 15
Tom Ford
Robert Milkins
Mike Dunn
Ian Burns

Saturday June 6th
Group 1
Stuart Bingham (14)
Ricky Walden
Jordon Brown
Jamie Clarke

Group 8
Jimmy Robertson
Ben Woollaston
Liam Highfield
Alex Ursenbacher

Sunday June 7th
Group 16
Neil Robertson (2)
Kurt Maflin
Ken Doherty
Ashley Carty

Group 7
Barry Hawkins (12)
Anthony McGill
Craig Steadman
Hammad Miah

Monday 8 June
Group 11
Mark Allen (6)
Martin O’Donnell
Michael White
Nigel Bond

Group 6
Ali Carter (18)
Matt Selt
Sam Craigie
Dominic Dale

The group winners stage will be held from June 9th to 10th and will see the 16 group winners split into four further groups of four, with two groups per day also played over two tables.

Tuesday June 9th
Group C
Winner of Group 10
Winner of Group 6
Winner of Group 1
Winner of Group 4

Group D
Winner of Group 15
Winner of Group 11
Winner of Group 8
Winner of Group 5

Wednesday 10 June
Group B
Winner of Group 12
Winner of Group 2
Winner of Group 7
Winner of Group 13

Group A
Winner of Group 14
Wiiner of Group 3
Winner of Group 9
Winner of Group 16

The finals will take place on June 11th and will see the four Phase Two winners battle it out over one final group, played on one table, to determine the Championship League winner.

Thursday June 11th
Winner of Group C
Winner of Group D
Winner of Group B
Winner of Group A

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account