Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

George Williams' Dons receive a bye in the EFL Football Manager Cup

MK Dons through to Round 2 in virtual tournament...

19 April 2020

Club News

George Williams' Dons receive a bye in the EFL Football Manager Cup

MK Dons through to Round 2 in virtual tournament...

19 April 2020

MK Dons have received a bye in the first round of the EFL Football Manager Cup.

The Dons, who will be managed by George Williams in the virtual tournament, will enter the competition in Round 2, which will take place during the week commencing 27 April.

Football Manager, the EFL and their official charity partner, Mind, will be bringing you the EFL Football Manager Cup – an FM tournament that will take place over the next month.

The Dons and 53 other clubs from across the EFL, each represented by a virtual manager, will face off in a straight knockout competition with the final two teams left standing facing off in the showpiece final in mid-May.

Defender George Williams will be the Dons’ virtual manager. The list of virtual managers representing the clubs includes current pro footballers, backroom staff and even some famous faces from the FM community.

The draw for Round One took place live on the Football Manager Twitter page on Sunday (19 April) and those matches will take place this coming week. Ten teams, including the Dons, have been given a first-round bye and will go straight into the second round.

After each round is completed, highlights will be uploaded onto the FM YouTube channel for you to catch up on all of the action and there will be a full written round-up on the FM website.

As well as supporting the Dons during the tournament, you can also show your support for the EFL’s charity partner, Mind, the mental health charity. In these tough times their services are needed more than ever so while you’re being entertained by the action, please consider donating here.


Round One match dates – Monday 20 April to Thursday 23 April
Round Two – week commencing 27 April
The ‘Round of 16’ – week commencing 4 May
The Quarter Finals – 11 May to 14 May
The Semi-Finals – Saturday 16 May
The Final – Sunday 17 May


AFC Wimbledon – Rob Tuvey (U18s Manager)

Birmingham City – Lee Camp (Player)

Blackburn Rovers – Adam Armstrong (Player)

Blackpool – Cameron (Supporter)

Bolton Wanderers – Paul Huddy (Kitman)

Bradford City – Kieran Devanny (Supporter)

Brentford – Sam Jacques (Supporter)

Bristol City – Mikey Cobban (YouTuber)

Bristol Rovers – Mikey Bell (Ex-Professional Rugby Player)

Carlisle United – Riegan Thompson (Supporter)

Charlton Athletic – Alex Avery (Marketing Manager)

Colchester United – Ollie Kensdale (Player)

Coventry City – Ryan Lawrence (Supporter)

Crawley Town – Sam Gadsdon (Social Media Admin)

Crewe Alexandra – Jack Marsland (Supporter)

Derby County – Paul Wilson (Supporter)

Doncaster Rovers – Luke Benniston (Supporter)

Exeter City – Nicky Law (Player)

Forest Green Rovers – Chris Stokes (Player)

Fulham – Charlie Cooper (Star of Our Country)

Huddersfield Town – Karlan Grant (Player)

Ipswich Town – Joe Fairs (Supporter)

Leeds United – Rob Callery

Leyton Orient – Dan Williams

Lincoln City – Thomas Kelsey (YouTuber)

Luton Town – George Osborn (Ukie)

Macclesfield Town – Daniel Fry (FM WEC Champion)

Mansfield Town – Jamie King (Supporter)

Middlesbrough – Neil Trewick (Supporter)

MK Dons – George Williams (Player)

Newport County – Gareth Swattridge (FM Researcher)

Northampton Town – Leigh Barton (FM Creators’ Cup Champion)

Nottingham Forest – Joe Lolley (Player)

Oldham Athletic – Jonny Smith (Player)

Peterborough United – Kevin Chapman/Lollujo (YouTuber)

Plymouth Argyle – Luke Omega (Gamer)

Port Vale – Jim Martin

Portsmouth FC – TBC

Preston North End – James Moulding (Supporter)

Queens Park Rangers – Rob Facey (Supporter)

Rochdale AFC – Elliot Howells (Supporter)

Rotherham United – Matt Neil (First-team Analyst)

Salford City – Cameron Burgess (Player)

Scunthorpe United – Harry Jamieson (Backroom staff)

Shrewsbury Town – Shaun Whalley (Player)

Southend United – Ellis Gamon (Supporter)

Swansea City – Gareth Richards (Supporter)

Swindon Town – Lewis Hathaway/FM Doop (FM Streamer)

Tranmere Rovers – James Knipe

Walsall FC – Ryan Duckhouse

West Bromwich Albion – Romaine Sawyers (Player)

Wigan Athletic – Jordan Coyle

Wycombe Wanderers – Craig Anderson (Supporter)


Fity four teams across the EFL’s three divisions compete in a knockout tournament with the aim to crown one club as the EFL Football Manager Cup winner.

Due to there being 54 teams taking part, 10 teams will be given a bye into Round Two. This will be determined by random during the first round draw and has been implemented to ensure 32 teams take part in Round Two.


• Matches to be played on FM20 Touch Versus mode, teams must play as themselves.

• This is a straight knockout tournament, with all ties comprising one game. Each tie will go to extra-time and penalties, if necessary, to produce a winner.

• The ‘home’ team of each tie will host the match .

• Suspensions/injuries won't carry over to the next round.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account