Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Williams named Player of the Year

3 May 2017

George Williams has been named MK Dons’ Player of the Year for the 2016/17 season.

The 24-year-old defender, who also took home the Players’ Player of the Year award at Tuesday’s ceremony, made 41 appearances this campaign and was a virtual ever-present in the starting XI since Robbie Neilson’s arrival in December.
Williams played and performed in a number of different positions during the season, earning plaudits from team-mates, supporters and his manager for his consistency and dependability. He has also chipped in with two goals, including a remarkable strike at Bradford City.
This recognition at the Player of the Year Awards ceremony caps off a remarkable turnaround for the Academy graduate, who was released by the Club as an apprentice back in 2012 before returning this past summer.
Another to pick up an award on Tuesday was Harvey Barnes, who was named MKDSA Young Player of the Year for his superb performances since arriving on loan from Leicester City in January.
Chuks Aneke received the Goal of the Season honour for his superb strike against Peterborough United while he Team Performance of the Year season went to the side who featured in that 4-0 win over the Posh back in January.
There was also recognition for former Don and current England international Dele Alli, who received the Chairman’s Award for his magnificent contribution to the Football Club. Although not present at the ceremony, Alli recorded a special video message for those in attendance.
Other winners on the night included: George Baldock (Media Personality) Ben Tilney (Community Ambassador), Brandon Thomas-Asante (Academy Player of the Year),  Vicky Holland (Ladies Player of the Year), Luke Dallen and Danny Ellis (MKDSA Disability Players of the Year), Aiden Selleck (Young Fan of the Year) and Joe and Jeff Newall (Fans of the Year).
Full list of winners:
Player of the Year – George Williams
Players’ Player of the Year – George Williams
Chairman's Award – Dele Alli
Team Performance of the Year – 4-0 v Peterborough United (28/1/17)
MKDSA Young Player of the Year – Harvey Barnes
Goal of the Season – Chuks Aneke v Peterborough United
Top Goalscorer – Kieran Agard (14)
Fan of the Year – Jo and Jeff Newall
Young Fan of the Year – Aiden Selleck
Academy Player of the Year – Brandon Thomas-Asante
Ladies Player of the Year– Vicky Holland
MKDSA Disability Player of the Year – Luke Dallen and Danny Ennis
Community Ambassador – Ben Tilney

Advertisement block