Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Dons host Latics in League One opener

MK Dons discover their 2017/18 schedule...

21 June 2017

Club News

Dons host Latics in League One opener

MK Dons discover their 2017/18 schedule...

21 June 2017

MK Dons will kick off their 2017/18 Sky Bet League One campaign with a home fixture against Wigan Athletic.

Robbie Neilson’s side will entertain the Latics – formerly of the Sky Bet Championship – at Stadium MK on Saturday 5th August in what will be the first ever league meeting between the two sides.

The Dons boss said of the fixture: “It’s a great start for us. It’s important we have a big one to focus on because if we can start the season well against a team that’s going to be one of your main competitors at the top end of the league and get a result, then it will set the tone for the rest of the season and gives us confidence.

"Right from today our focus is on Wigan and we’ll make we’re ready for it.”

The men from MK1 then travel to Forest Green Rovers for their Carabao Cup opener at The New Lawn before visiting Blackpool – another Sky Bet League One newcomer – on Saturday 12th August in their first away league match of the campaign.

Neilson’s side end the month of August with a home clash with Gillingham on Saturday 19th and a trip to Blackburn Rovers the following Saturday.

Then comes ‘derby month’ for the Dons, who face Oxford United (H), Peterborough United (A), AFC Wimbledon (A) and Northampton Town (H) in the space of 24 days during September.

The home fixture with Peterborough United is set for Saturday 30th December, while the Stadium MK clash with AFC Wimbledon is booked in for Saturday 13th January. The visits to Oxford and Northampton will take place on New Year’s Day and Saturday 20th January, respectively.

The festive period sees the Dons face Plymouth Argyle at home on Boxing Day, three days after a pre-Christmas trip to Rotherham United on Saturday 23rd December. Then come the aforementioned fixtures with Peterborough and Oxford on Saturday 30th December and New Year’s Day, respectively.

Easter Weekend sees the Dons set for a visit to Gillingham on Saturday 31st March. Neilson’s team are then at home to Blackburn Rovers on Easter Monday (2nd April).

The men from MK1 end the 2017/18 campaign with a trip to Shrewsbury Town on Saturday 5th May – kick-off time for the finale has been set at 5.30pm.

MK Dons’ 2017/18 fixtures in full:

Sat 5 Aug Wigan Athletic H
Tue 8 Aug Forest Green Rovers A (Carabao Cup Round One)
Sat 12 Aug Blackpool A
Sat 19 Aug Gillingham H
Tue 22 Aug Carabao Cup Round Two
Sat 26 Aug Blackburn Rovers A

Sat 2 Sep Oxford United H (International date)
Sat 9 Sep Plymouth Argyle A
Tue 12 Sep Peterborough United A
Sat 16 Sep Rochdale H
Tue 19 Sep Carabao Cup Round Three
Sat 23 Sep AFC Wimbledon A
Tue 26 Sep Northampton Town H
Sat 30 Sep Bury A

Sat 7 Oct Bradford City H (International date)
Sat 14 Oct Portsmouth A
Tue 17 Oct Walsall H
Sat 21 Oct Oldham Athletic H
Tue 24 Oct Carabao Cup Round Four
Sat 28 Oct Bristol Rovers A

Sat 4 Nov Emirates FA Cup Round One
Sat 11 Nov Fleetwood Town H (International date)
Sat 18 Nov Charlton Athletic A
Tue 21 Nov Southend United H
Sat 25 Nov Doncaster Rovers A

Sat 2 Dec Emirates FA Cup Round Two
Sat 9 Dec Shrewsbury Town H
Sat 16 Dec Scunthorpe United A
Tue 19 Dec Carabao Cup Round Five
Sat 23 Dec Rotherham United A
Tue 26 Dec Plymouth Argyle H
Sat 30 Dec Peterborough United H

Mon 1 Jan Oxford United A
Sat 6 Jan Rochdale A (Emirates FA Cup Round Three)
Tue 9 Jan Carabao Cup Semi-Final First Leg
Sat 13 Jan AFC Wimbledon H
Sat 20 Jan Northampton Town A
Tue 23 Jan Carabao Cup Semi-Final Second Leg
Sat 27 Jan Rotherham United H (Emirates FA Cup Round Four)

Sat 3 Feb Walsall A
Sat 10 Feb Portsmouth H
Tue 13 Feb Oldham Athletic A
Sat 17 Feb Charlton Athletic H (Emirates FA Cup Round Five)
Sat 24 Feb Fleetwood Town A
Sun 25 Feb (Carabao Cup Final)

Sat 3 Mar Bristol Rovers H
Sat 10 Mar Bradford City A
Sat 17 Mar Bury H (Emirates FA Cup Quarter-Final)
Sat 24 Mar Blackpool H (International date)
Sat 31 Mar Gillingham A

Mon 2 Apr Blackburn Rovers H
Sat 7 Apr Wigan Athletic A
Sat 14 Apr Doncaster Rovers H
Sat 21 Apr Southend United A (Emirates FA Cup Semi-Final)
Sat 28 Apr Scunthorpe United H

Sat 5 May (KO 5.30pm) Shrewsbury Town A
Sat 19 May Emirates FA Cup Final

Fixture dates and kick-off times are subject to change. Compiled in association with Atos.

Advertisement block

iFollow Next Match Tickets Account