Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Hall's strike put forward for Goal of the Year!

18 March 2016

Rob Hall’s stunning strike against Leyton Orient back in April is the Dons’ nomination for the Mitre Goal of the Year award.

Goals from each of the 72 Football League clubs are in contention to be named the Mitre Goal of the Year at the Football League Awards 2016.

Channel 5’s Football League Tonight show will this weekend reveal which 10 goals from the list will now be put forward for a fan vote, which will help to decide the final shortlist of five.

The overall winner of the best goal from 2015 will be decided at the Football League Awards which take place at Manchester Central on Sunday 17 April 2016.

Previous winners of the Mitre Goal of the Year award include Joe Garner (Preston North End – 2015), Franck Moussa (Coventry City – 2014), Simon Cox (Nottingham Forest - 2013), Peter Whittingham (Cardiff City - 2012), Dean Furman (Oldham Athletic - 2011).

to see all 72 nominations! here Click

Each of the 72 Football League clubs nominated their best goal from 2015 as their own ‘Mitre Goal of the Year’ for the competition.

The selection of the 10 best goals scored by League clubs form across Football League competitions in 2015 will be shown by George Riley and Kelly Cates on the Channel 5 programme on Saturday evening, along with details of how fans can vote for their favourite.

Advertisement block