Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Defender included in PFA Team of the Year

22 April 2016

George Baldock has been named in the PFA League Two Team of the Year.

The right back spent the first half of the season with Oxford United and impressed during his 35 appearances, helping the U’s set up a promotion push before returning to stadiummk in January.

The Team of the Year is voted for by the professionals in the division – each player selects their best XI and those with the highest amount of selections are included in the final side.

Baldock told “It’s great to be named in the team and to be chosen by my fellow professionals is a real honour.

“I was a little surprised because I only played in League Two for half a season and I didn’t even feature against some teams. It’s nice to know I still got selected despite all that.”

While others in League Two were able to vote for Baldock, the full-back wasn’t able to have his say on he felt deserved the recognition.

He explained: “As I was back here when they asked for the votes I had to do a Championship Team of the Year and I voted for Bruno as my right-back.

“If I was still in League Two, though, I’d have probably gone for Brendan Maloney. He’s had a great season and he’s a good lad too.”

Oxford have remained in the promotion places since Baldock’s return but their grip on an automatic spot has loosened. The right-back, though, still expects the U’s to secure a Sky Bet League 1 berth.

“It would be brilliant for Oxford to get promotion and they deserve it too,” he added.

“They’ve slipped up in recent weeks and its tight now between them and the teams below but I’m still convinced they’ll be able to finish the job – I’ll certainly be keeping an eye on them and hoping they do well.”

PFA League Two Team of the Year in full: GK Adam Smith (Northampton Town); RB - George Baldock (Oxford United, on loan from MK Dons) CB - Aaron Pierre (Wycombe Wanderers) CB - Curtis Nelson (Plymouth Argyle) LB - Joe Jacobson (Wycombe Wanderers); MID - Kemar Roofe (Oxford United) MID - Ricky Holmes (Northampton Town) MID - Matt Crooks (Accrington Stanley) MID - John-Joe O'Toole (Northampton Town); CF - Jay Simpson (Leyton Orient) CF - Matty Taylor (Bristol Rovers).

The PFA Championship Team of the Year has also been announced and it included 12 players for the first time in its voting history as Daniel Ayala of Midlesbrough and Hull's Michael Dawson received an equal number of nominations.

PFA Championship Team of the Year in full: GK Tom Heaton (Burnley); RB Bruno (Brighton & Hove Albion), CB Daniel Ayala/Michael Dawson (Middlesbrough/Hull City), CB Michael Keane (Burnley), LB George Friend (Middlesbrough); MID Adam Clayton (Middlesbrough), MID Alan Judge (Brentford), MID Joey Barton (Burnley), MID Barry Bannan (Sheff Wed); CF Andre Gray (Burnley), CF Ross McCormack (Fulham).

Advertisement block