Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

In focus: Blackburn Rovers

27 May 2015

Ahead of the Dons’ inaugural Championship campaign, takes a look at the new sides they will face in 2015/16.

Next up are Blackburn Rovers, another side whom the Dons have never faced in a league fixture before.

Manager: Gary Bowyer

Key and notable players: Tom Cairney, Craig Conway, Rudy Gestede, Markus Olsson, Jordan Rhodes

Former Dons: None

Stadium: Ewood Park (31,367 capacity)
Nickname: Rovers
Kit: Blue and white striped shirt, white shorts, black socks

Blackburn were established in 1875, becoming a founding member of The Football League in 1888.

The club enjoyed plenty of success prior to 1930 – they won two Division One titles, six FA Cups and one Community Shield – but in 1965/66 they suffered relegation and went on to spend 26 successive seasons outside the top flight.

In 1992, under the leadership of Kenny Dalglish, Blackburn were promoted to the newly-formed Premier League and just three years later they became champions – an achievement which was partly due to the form of newly-acquired striker Alan Shearer.

Blackburn, who dropped back into the Championship in 2012, remain one of only five clubs to have ever won the Premier League, along with Arsenal, Chelsea, Manchester United and Manchester City.

Blackburn’s ninth-place finish in 2014/15 ensured the Lancashire club of a second-straight top 10 finish.

In Bowyer’s second season in charge, Rovers proved difficult a side to beat and they lost just 13 Championship games all year and never by more than two goals. They were also a constant goal-scoring threat thanks to strikers Rudy Gestede and Jordan Rhodes who, between them, contributed to over 40 goals.

They also enjoyed success in the FA Cup, beating Premier League outfits Swansea City and Stoke City as well as taking eventual semi-finalists Liverpool to a replay after a goalless draw at Ewood Park.

Since the season’s end, Blackburn have said goodbye to veterans David Dunn and Paul Robinson, while Chris Taylor and Luke Varney have also been told they are free to find new clubs.

However, duo Matt Kilgallon and Lee Williamson will stay with the club next season after earning one-year contracts. Under-21s captain David Carson has also extended his stay at Ewood Park by a further 12 months.

*Cost over 10 months with two-months payment up front

To sign up, visit the Box Office at stadiummk/kiosk at thecentre:mk or call 0333 200 5343.

for a full list of prices! hereWatch every home match of the Dons’ first season in the Championship by signing up for a 2015/16 season ticket. Adult prices start from £32 a month* and under-18s from just £3.50 a month*, while under-12s go FREE with a Young Dons membership - click

Advertisement block