Skip to main content Skip to site footer

Dons up for two FL Awards

18 March 2015

MK Dons have been shortlisted for the Football League Family Club of the Year award while Giorgio Rasulo has also been nominated for LFE League 1 Apprentice of the Year.

The Football League has announced the first shortlists for The Football League Awards 2015, the 10th anniversary of the annual awards ceremony that celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs.

To tie in with the 10th anniversary, this year there are a total of 10 categories with shortlists for four categories announced so far.  The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 19th April 2015.

A total of 19 clubs have made the shortlists for the first four categories announced and the Dons, along with Brighton & hove Albion, Millwall and Stevenage all lead the way with two nominations each.

Drew Barrand, Marketing Director of The Football League, said: “The Football League Awards 2015 provides not just the opportunity to recognise star performances, both on and off the pitch over the last year, but also the chance to celebrate the last 10 years of the event.

“This is the best year yet in terms of the standard and number of entries so to make the shortlists is a real achievement by the clubs and individuals involved. We wish all those nominated the best of luck and look forward to a fantastic evening in April when we will announce the winners.”

The shortlists announced are:
Family Club of the Year
Brighton & Hove Albion
Colchester United
Plymouth Argyle

Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year
Blackburn Rovers (North West)
Doncaster Rovers (Yorkshire and North East)
Derby County (Midlands)
Norwich City (East)
Brighton & Hove Albion (South)

PFA Player in the Community
Hope Akpan (Reading)
Elliot Omozusi (Leyton Orient)
Danny Shittu (Millwall)

LFE Apprentice of the Year
Lewis Cook (Leeds United)
Fred Onyedinma (Millwall)
Joe Gomez (Charlton Athletic)

League 1
George Cooper (Crewe Alexandra)
Louis Reed (Sheffield United)

League 2
Conor Chaplin (Portsmouth)
Ben Harrison (AFC Wimbledon)
Ryan Johnson (Stevenage)

There will also be awards on the night for the Mitre Goal of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, Sky Bet Players of the Year, Young Player of the Year, the Sir Tom Finney Award and Contribution to League Football.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

Fans currently have the chance to have a say in one of the award categories, with voting for the Mitre Goal of the Year shortlist taking place in conjunction with Soccer AM.  To see the goals and vote visit

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit

Advertisement block