Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Alli up for Young Player of the Year!

14 April 2015

Dele Alli has been shortlisted for the Football League Young Player of the Award, which will be announced on Sunday at the 10th annual awards night.

The Football League have announced the three-man shortlist for the award, which covers players in all divisions – the three nominees are Alli, former Don and now Middlesbrough striker Patrick Bamford and Nathan Redmond of Norwich City.

Presented to the best player in The Football League under the age of 21, or in the season in which he turned 21, this award celebrates the emergence of young playing talent at The League’s 72 clubs and has previously been won by the likes of Gareth Bale, Fabian Delph and Wilfried Zaha. Currently a third of all players registered with Football League clubs are eligible to be considered for this award.

Alli has had an outstanding season for the Dons, becoming a key figure in Karl Robinson’s promotion-chasing side.  The 19-year-old midfielder has scored 14 goals, including a hat-trick against Crewe Alexandra – form which resulted in him signing for Tottenham Hotspur in the last transfer window before being loaned back to stadiummk.

This season also saw Dele selected for the England Under-19s for the first time, having previously represented his country at Under-18 and Under-17 level. 

This is the third award the Dons are dominated for, following their nomination for Family Club of the Year and Giorgio Rasulo being shortlisted for League 1 Apprentice of the Year.

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.  To tie in with the 10th anniversary, this year there are a total of 10 categories.  Shortlists for the Sky Bet Players of the Year in each division will be announced ahead of the weekend.  Other categories include the Family Club of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year, LFE Apprentice of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 19th April 2015.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of Award categories, please visit or search for #FLAwards on Twitter.

Advertisement block