Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Alli nominated for League 1 Player of the Year

16 April 2015

Dele Alli has been shortlisted for the Sky Bet League 1 Player of the Year award, which will be announced on Sunday at the 10th annual Football League Awards.

The exceptionally-talented teenager, who is also up for the Football League Young Player of the Year gong, is one of three players nominated, along with Bristol City’s Luke Freeman and Joe Garner of Preston North End.

Alli has had a sensational season in midfield for the Dons, only his second as a professional. His 15 goals, including a hat trick in a 6-1 win at Crewe Alexandra in September have been crucial to the Dons’ promotion challenge in League 1.

He is regarded as one of the brightest prospects in The Football League – talent that helped him secure a transfer with Tottenham Hotspur in January before being loaned back to the Dons.

The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division. Each manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the scores added up to get a shortlist and an overall winner.

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League's 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.  To tie in with the 10th anniversary, this year there are a total of 10 categories.  The shortlist for the Sky Bet Players of the Year in the Championship will be announced on Friday.  Other categories include the Family Club of the Year, Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, PFA Player in the Community, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year, LFE Apprentice of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

Alongside these there will be two special categories to mark the 10th anniversary of the event – the Tokio Marine Club Hero Award recognising a member of staff at each of the 72 Football League clubs, and the Football Manager Team of the Decade with 11 selected players and a manager selected based on performances from the past 10 seasons.

The winners will be announced at a gala ceremony at The Brewery, London on Sunday 19th April 2015.

Advertisement block