Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

2013/14 League 1 teams confirmed

20 May 2013

Following the League 1 and 2 play-off finals this weekend, the 23 opponents the Dons will face next season have been confirmed.

On Sunday, Gary Johnson’s Yeovil Town upset all the odds by defeating favourites Brentford 2-1 at Wembley Stadium. Goals from the red-hot Paddy Madden and centre-back Dan Burn secured the monumental victory for the Glovers, who reach the second tier of English football for the first time in their history.

While Yeovil may not be playing their football in League 1 next season, Bradford City will be after their comfortable 3-0 play-off victory over Northampton Town on Saturday. Phil Parkinson’s Yorkshire side capped off a memorable season by defeating their League 2 rivals in their second visit to the national stadium this season.

Bradford City subsequently join League 2 Champions Gillingham and promotion winners Port Vale and Rotherham United in making the jump to English football’s third tier. The quartet replaces Bury, Portsmouth, Hartlepool United and Scunthorpe United, all of whom were relegated from the division this season.

Also leaving League 1 are 2012/13 champions Doncaster Rovers and second-placed AFC Bournemouth who secured their places in the Championship in the final two weeks of the season, as well as play-off winners Yeovil Town. Doncaster, Bournemouth and Yeovil will be replaced by the relegated trio of Bristol City, Peterborough United and Wolverhampton Wanderers next season.

See below the list of League 1 teams for 2013/14:

Bradford City
Bristol City
Carlisle United
Colchester United
Coventry City
Crawley Town
Crewe Alexandra
Leyton Orient
Notts County
Oldham Athletic
Peterborough United
Preston North End
Port Vale
Rotherham United
Sheffield United
Shrewsbury Town
Swindon Town
Tranmere Rovers
Wolverhampton Wanderers

The fixtures for 2013/14 will be announced on at 9am on Wednesday 19th June.

Keep your eye on over the summer as we will focus on the new teams that the Dons will face next year.

Advertisement block