Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Williams named Player of the Year

24 April 2013

Shaun Williams was the big winner at the Player of the Year Awards as he was crowned the MK Dons Player of the Year and the Players’ Player of the Year.

The midfielder-turned-defender picked up the main award after weeks of voting from the MK Dons supporters. The Irishman, who is in his second season with the Club, has been a consistent performer throughout the campaign and has totalled 54 games for the Dons this year.
His versatility has been a huge asset to Karl Robinson’s side this season as he has played in midfield – both in the defensive and attacking role – as well as centre-back and, more recently, left-back.
Williams’ calm passing style epitomises the style of football Robinson has been keen to implement at the Football Club over recent seasons. As well as some superb defensive performances over the past year, Williams has shown his coolness under pressure with the winning goal coming from the penalty spot against Sheffield United.
The former FAI Cup winner has netted on sixoccasions in 2012/13. His all-round ability on the pitch saw both the fans and his peers vote Williams the outstanding player this season.
The other big winners of the night included Stephen Gleeson who picked up the Milton Keynes Dons Supporters’ Association’s First Team Player Award after one of his most impressive seasons to date. Despite missing two months through injury, Gleeson has had a telling impact on the Dons this season and has added goals to his game with seven to his name – one of which came in the win over AFC Wimbledon in the FA Cup.
Adam Chicksen was recognised for his excellent contribution this season by being picked the Young Player of the Year by the MK Dons management staff, and he also claimed the Community Ambassador gong of the night, while David Martin picked up the new Media Personality Award, which recognised his performances on the pitch and in front of the media.
Stephen Gleeson;s goal against AFC Wimbledon was voted the goal of the season. The midfielder's wonder goal in The FA Cup was voted the standout goal for the Dons. A shortlist of five were selected by the Dons’ management and those in attendance at the awards voted for the winner.
Darren Ollard was crowned the MKDSA Disability Player of the Year while Charlie Wright picked up the Ladies Player of Year. Adam Faiers, who has cycled to every away game this season and raised over £5,000 for MK Dons SET’s Disability teams and Redway School, was named the MK Dons Fan of the Year.
MKDSA First Team Player of the Year: Stephen Gleeson
MKDSA Disability Player of the Year: Darren Ollard
MK Dons SET Community Ambassador of the Year: Adam Chicksen
MK Dons Ladies Player of the Year: Charlie Wright
Fan of the Year: Adam Faiers
MK Dons Young Player of the Year: Adam Chicksen
Media Personality of the Year: David Martin

Top Goalscorer: Dean Bowditch/Ryan Lowe – to be decided after the final game of the 2012/13 season
MK Dons Players’ Player of the Year: Shaun Williams
Goal of the Year: Stephen Gleeson v AFC Wimbledon
MK Dons Player of the Year: Shaun Williams

Advertisement block