Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Dons up for giant-killing gong

11 April 2013

MK Dons have been nominated for the Ronnie Radford award – an accolade which acknowledges the most impressive giant-killing in the FA Cup with Budweiser.

The Dons are in the running for the award for their 4-2 away win at Queens Park Rangers in the Fourth Round.

Harry Redknapp's men were rock bottom of the Premier League and were behind after Armand Traore's fourth-minute own goal. 

Ryan Lowe made it 2-0 before half-time then Ryan Harley and Darren Potter put the game beyond the Hoops in the second period. Goals from Jay Bothroyd and Fabio Da Silva in the very late stages were mere consolation as QPR were sent packing. 

The Dons are nominated alongside Luton Town, Oldham Athletic and Macclesfield Town. Fans can vote for who they think deserves to win, with the victorious club being presented with the award at The FA Cup Final at Wembley Stadium on 11 May. 

Luton Town are nominated after they became the first non-League side to knock out a top-flight outfit in 24 years when they beat Norwich City 1-0 at Carrow Road. On the same weekend Oldham also made the headlines when they humbled Brendan Rodgers’ Liverpool side at Boundary Park.

Oldham, managed at the time by Paul DIckov, upset the odds by sending the Red back to Anfield without a place in the next round of the Cup and nursing dented pride. 

The final Club up for the award is Macclesfield Town; the Conference Premier League side won 2-1 at home to Championship high-flyers Cardiff City. 

The Ronnie Radford Award is named after the Hereford United midfielder whose long-range goal against Newcastle United in 1972 helped bring about arguably The FA Cup’s most famous giant-killing. 

Radford’s spectacular goal on a mud-covered Edgar Street pitch equalised Malcolm Macdonald’s opener for the Magpies and is a constant and wonderful reminder of the magic of The FA Cup. Ricky George hit the winner to send Hereford into the Fourth Round. 

Make your choice for this year's Ronnie Radford Award winner by clicking here and voting on the poll. Voting closes at midnight on Sunday 28 April.

Advertisement block