Skip to main content Skip to site footer
Club News

Decisions made on young trio

12 April 2013

Milton Keynes Dons can today (Friday) confirm that Mason Spence, Charlie Burns and Mo Ahmed are now free to pursue their football opportunities elsewhere.

The three second-year scholars found out earlier this week that they will not been offered professional contracts by the Football Club and therefore the Dons and Director of Youth Mike Dove will now seek to help the players find a new direction in their careers.

Spence, Burns and Ahmed are all now able to look for new clubs but can also see out the remainder of the Under-18 season with MK Dons.

Spence took on the role of Under-18s captain at the beginning of the season and has been a regular feature in Mike Dove’s side all campaign. The young full-back’s solid performances for the academy earned him a first professional start in the Johnstone’s Paint Trophy clash with Northampton Town in September 2012, his solitary first team appearance.

Burns joined the Club in 2011 and has been Under-18s number 1 ‘keeper throughout the year. The shot-stopper featured on the bench for the first team in the 1-0 defeat to Walsall earlier this season and has also travelled with the first team squad to assist with warm ups on numerous occasions.

Finally, Ahmed has donned the captain’s armband on several different occasions for the Under-18s and has been in fine goal-scoring form all season, most recently netting a hat-trick in a 6-1 romp over Portsmouth.

Director of Youth Dove, who is assisting the three youngsters in their search of pastures new, told “I’d like to personally thank Mason, Mo and Charlie for all their hard work and dedication during their respective time with the academy.

“All of them have been terrific ambassadors for the Football Club both on the pitch and in the community and I’m sure all three will achieve great success in whatever they choose to do in the future.”

The departures of the second-years leaves the Under-18s side with a squad of 18, which includes the 10 new apprentices who were offered their deals last month. The full Under-18 squad for next season is as follows:

Dele Alli (second-year), Remy Forrester (second-year), Brendan Galloway (second-year), Ben Grant (second-year), Harry Hickford (second-year), Jon Osae (second-year), Kelvin Osei-Addo (second-year), Will Summerfield (second-year), Ben Tilney (first-year), Luke Tingey (first-year), Kabongo Tshimanga (first-year), Aaron Weston (first-year), Kyran Wiltshire (first-year), Laurence Vaughan (first-year), Jacob Daffern (first-year), Amiel King (first-year), Gedeon Okito (first-year), Giorgio Rasulo (first-year).

Advertisement block